Japan first competed in the IOL in 2012, and has competed in 9 olympiads. They most recently competed in 2021. They have sent 61 participants in 16 teams.

In competition, teams from Japan have brought home 12 medals (3 gold, 3 silver and 6 bronze), 3 best-solution prizes and 12 honorable mentions.

In addition, Japan has sent 1 Repeat Medalist to the Hall of Fame.

Team Japan is chosen through IOLing Japan (国際言語学オリンピック―日本).

Individual Contest Medalists

Year Medal Name Team
2021 Gold Hibiki Sugawara Japan Samurai
2021 Gold Takamichi Hoshii Japan Ninja
2019 Gold Takumi Yoshino Japan Ninja
2021 Silver Rio Ogawa Japan Samurai
2017 Silver Takumi Yoshino Japan 2
2014 Silver Keisuke Yamada Japan 2
2019 Bronze Takumi Ose Japan Ninja
2019 Bronze Tsubasa Takahashi Japan Ninja
2018 Bronze Takumi Nishino Japan Ninja
2017 Bronze Yuito Yoneyama Japan 1
2016 Bronze Tsuyoshi Kobayashi Japan Samurai
2015 Bronze Naoki Nishiyama Japan Ninja

Honorable Mentions

Year Award Name Team
2021 HM Junnosuke Tanaka Japan Ninja
2021 HM Tatsuki Morohoshi Japan Ninja
2019 HM Reona Kubomiya Japan Samurai
2018 HM Takayuki Yamazaki Japan Ninja
2017 HM Ryuhoh Ide Japan 1
2017 HM Junnosuke Kajita Japan 2
2016 HM Yuto Yagi Japan Ninja
2016 HM Hirotaka Sato Japan Samurai
2015 HM Yuto Yagi Japan Ninja
2015 HM Sato Hirotaka Japan Ninja
2014 HM Nishiyama Naoki Japan 1
2012 HM Yutaro Yamada Japan