United Kingdom

United Kingdom first competed in the IOL in 2009, and has competed in 14 olympiads. They most recently competed in 2023. They have sent 88 participants in 22 teams.

In competition, teams from United Kingdom have brought home 44 medals (15 gold, 14 silver and 15 bronze), 5 trophies (2 gold and 3 bronze), 1 first-place team cup, 5 best-solution prizes, 17 honorable mentions and 1 team contest honorable mention.

In addition, United Kingdom has sent 7 Repeat Medalists and 4 Dream Teams to the Hall of Fame.

Team United Kingdom is chosen through UKLO, UK Linguistics Olympiad.

Individual Contest Medalists

Year Medal Name Team
2023 Gold William Keith Thomson United Kingdom
2022 Gold Alison Craig-Greene UK U
2019 Gold Sam Corner UK U
2019 Gold Simeon Hellsten UK K
2019 Gold Benedict Randall Shaw UK K
2018 Gold Liam McKnight UK K
2018 Gold Benedict Randall Shaw UK K
2017 Gold Samuel Ahmed UK K
2017 Gold Liam McKnight UK U
2017 Gold Simeon Hellsten UK K
2016 Gold Liam McKnight UK
2016 Gold Samuel Ahmed UK
2015 Gold Samuel Ahmed UK East
2015 Gold Liam McKnight UK West
2014 Gold Elysia Jane Warner UK
2023 Silver Daniel Titmas United Kingdom
2023 Silver Alison Craig-Greene United Kingdom
2022 Silver William Thomson UK K
2022 Silver George Zhou UK U
2022 Silver Toby Collins UK K
2022 Silver Stratos Voudouris UK K
2019 Silver Harrison Moore UK U
2019 Silver Daniel Turaev UK K
2018 Silver Simeon Hellsten UK K
2017 Silver Harry Taylor UK K
2017 Silver Ben Morris UK U
2015 Silver Anthony Bracey UK West
2013 Silver Omri Faraggi UK North
2012 Silver Tom White UK
2023 Bronze Luke Borrel United Kingdom
2021 Bronze Toby Collins UK K
2019 Bronze Kilian Meissner UK U
2019 Bronze Alex Walker UK U
2018 Bronze Edmund Lea UK U
2018 Bronze Hari Raghava Prasad UK K
2018 Bronze Sean White UK U
2016 Bronze Isobel Alice Voysey UK
2015 Bronze Naomi Solomons UK East
2012 Bronze Omri Faraggi UK
2012 Bronze Melanie Duncan UK
2012 Bronze Baichuan Li UK
2011 Bronze Nik Moore UK
2010 Bronze Younus Porteous  UK 1
2009 Bronze Ben Caller Great Britain

Honorable Mentions

Year Award Name Team
2022 HM Brendan Bethlehem UK U
2021 HM Harrison William Moore UK U
2021 HM Aanya Goyal UK K
2021 HM Alexander James Robson UK U
2021 HM Toby Weston UK U
2015 HM Harry Taylor UK West
2015 HM Isobel Voysey UK East
2015 HM Stephanie Wong UK West
2014 HM Alastair James Carr UK
2013 HM Neema Kotonya UK North
2013 HM Harry Goodhew UK North
2013 HM Elysia Warner UK South
2013 HM Daniel Pitt UK South
2013 HM Theo Tindall UK South
2011 HM Piotr Gałuszka UK
2010 HM Craig Bohrson UK 1
2010 HM Carl Rietschel UK 2

Individual Contest Team Average Scores

Year Place Team
2017 1st Place UK K
2018 3rd Place UK K

Team Contest Trophies

Year Trophy Team
2023 Gold United Kingdom
2015 Gold UK West
2022 Bronze UK K
2018 Bronze UK U
2016 Bronze UK

Team Contest Honorable Mentions

Year Award Team
2021 HM UK U