Germany first competed in the IOL in 2008, and has competed in 9 olympiads. They most recently competed in 2023. They have sent 44 participants in 11 teams.

In competition, teams from Germany have brought home 6 medals (2 silver and 4 bronze), 1 best-solution prize and 12 honorable mentions.

In addition, Germany has sent 1 Repeat Medalist to the Hall of Fame.

Team Germany is chosen through DOL, German Linguistics Olympiad (Deutsche Linguistik-Olympiade).

Individual Contest Medalists

Year Medal Name Team
2022 Silver Merlin Fischer Germany Umlaut
2012 Silver Max Allmendinger Germany
2023 Bronze Merlin Fischer Germany Umlaut
2022 Bronze Réka Wagener Germany Eszett
2021 Bronze Louis Cho Streichholzschächtelchen
2010 Bronze Jakob Park Germany

Honorable Mentions

Year Award Name Team
2023 HM Konrad Jannes Köhler Germany Umlaut
2022 HM Michał Boroń Germany Umlaut
2021 HM Levente Hartstang Quietscheentchen
2021 HM Merlin Fischer Streichholzschächtelchen
2021 HM Konrad Jannes Köhler Quietscheentchen
2021 HM Michał Boroń Quietscheentchen
2019 HM Maja Sellmer Germany
2012 HM Maylis Ribette Germany
2010 HM Maximilian König Germany
2010 HM Nadine Sedlaczeck Germany
2009 HM Tony Keller Germany
2009 HM Jens Theilen Germany